

SOUTHWESTERN REGION OF THE USA

The Southwestern Region of the United States of America

The four states in the Southwestern Region are Oklahoma, Arizona, New Mexico, and Texas.

The land in this region varies greatly, from arid deserts, to flat-topped mesas, to fertile farmland, to the powerful Grand Canyon, and to the majestic Rocky Mountains.



Major Cil. San

Antonio, Dallas and Tulsa

Economy: oil production, tourism, cattle ranching, agriculture, space industry, and service industries





Geographic Features: Gulf of Mexico, Rio Grande, Grand Canyon, Colorado River, Rocky Mountains, Sonoran Desert, and the Painted Desert





Resources: copper, oil, hydroelectric power, natural gas, and coal



PREVIEW

Please <u>Sign In</u> or <u>Sign Up</u> to download the printable version of this worksheet

Landmai

rlsbad

Caverns National Park, and the Petrified Forest National Park





Other Interesting Information:

• The country south of the Southwestern Region is **Mexico**.



Texas is called the "Lone Star State."



 Most of the land in the Southwestern Region used to be claimed by Spain, then by Mexico.



- Many people in the Southwestern Region speak English and Spanish.
- The channel used to move goods between Houston and the Gulf of Mexico is called the **Houston Ship Channel**.