

## **CANADA**

**Canada** has a rich history of being home to many **aboriginal** peoples, including Indian tribes and the Inuit. When European explorers began to reach Canada, they found a land rich in resources and began to settle in this area of North America.



In the 14<sup>th</sup> and 15<sup>th</sup> centuries, French settlements were established in what we know as Canada today. Given the name *New France*, places such as **Quebec City** and **Newfoundland** became permanent settlements. The French eventually fell under British control but they were allowed to continue practicing many of their cultural traditions and beliefs.



When Canada finally became a **federation**, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Ontario, and Quebec entered into the union. From 1867 to 1949, 6 provinces also entered the Confederation, creating the **ten Canadian provinces** that make up the nation today.



## **PREVIEW**

Please <u>Sign In</u> or <u>Sign Up</u> to download the printable version of this worksheet

